Board of Supervisors

Southampton County's governing body is the Board of Supervisors, which is comprised of seven Southampton County citizens, one each from the seven election districts. A Chairman and Vice-Chairman are elected annually.  The Board has overall administrative and legislative responsibilities, including the levying of county taxes, appropriating funds, approving and enforcing the Comprehensive Plan, which governs land use, the making and enforcing ordinances and setting policies and procedures for the citizens of Southampton County.

The Board of Supervisors meets regularly the 4th Tuesday of each month at 7:00 PM (Closed Meeting is at 6:00 PM).