Personal Property Tax Relief Act
The Personal Property Tax Relief Act of 1998 provides a tax reduction to the first $20,000 value of a qualifying vehicle. A qualifying vehicle is defined as any passenger car, pickup, panel truck, or motorcycle used for non-business purposes.
Personal Property tax bills are due December 5th. Supplements billings are due within 30 days of the bill date. Personal Property Tax is delinquent the day after the due date. There is a penalty required by the Virginia State Code and Southampton County Code for late payment of taxes. The penalty is 10% or $10, whichever is greater, but not to exceed the amount of the tax. Penalties are calculated separately for each taxable item. The Treasurer's Office is also required by the Virginia State Code to collect interest at an annual rate of 10% until payment is received in full.